Loudoun Farmers Eligible for Relief Amid Drought

Local farmers in Loudoun County, grappling with drought conditions this growing season, can seek aid through the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA).

The USDA has identified Loudoun, along with six other counties in Virginia, as “drought designation areas.” This status enables the FSA to extend emergency loans and other forms of assistance to farmers who have been impacted by the drought.

Farmers in the eligible counties, which include Clarke, Fauquier, Frederick, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, and Warren, along with adjacent counties in Virginia, Maryland, and West Virginia, have a window of eight months from the date of this declaration to submit their applications for loans.

Earlier in the year, a Drought Watch was issued for northern Virginia by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality’s Drought Monitoring Task Force. The latest report from the task force indicates that some regional stations are observing surface and groundwater levels that are nearing record lows.

Local officials urge all residents to engage in voluntary conservation efforts to safeguard water supplies. These measures include reducing non-essential water use, such as shortening shower times, running dishwashers only with a full load, and regularly checking for pipe leaks.

For more details on the emergency drought assistance accessible to our local farmers, residents can reach out to the Virginia State Office of the Farm Service Agency, located in Warrenton, and the Virginia Cooperative Extension in Loudoun.

Share the Post: